AFS #09 – A Nation Divided


The ninth volume in the famous American Frontier Suites series, this medley brings you four more tunes popular during the years of the American Civil War.


CivilWarBattle600X223In this ninth volume of our AMERICAN FRONTIER SUITES series, we bring you five more tunes popular in the U.S. during the years of the Civil War:

  • UnionAgainstRebSoldier200X198The Bonnie Blue Flag
  • Tenting Tonight on the Old Campground
  • Marching Through Georgia
  • My Darling Nelly Gray
  • John Brown’s Body

Most of these tunes are still recognizable today, in the twenty-first century, with John Brown’s Body even providing the inspiration and the melody for the “Battle Hymn of the Republic.”

We are currently refining the downloadable file, which means you cannot download the file from this page quite yet. However, the music IS available, so if you would like to purchase it now, please use our CONTACT US page. Thanks!

Here is the Mississippi Community Symphonic Band performing this suite on March 8, 2014.

If you like, here are some program notes you can use:

In this ninth work of his American Frontier Suites series, arranger David Miller brings us a second medley based on tunes popular during the years of the American Civil War.In this most horrible of internal American conflicts, you should remember that with the exception of a few officers on horses, every one of the hundreds of thousands of soldiers involved marched from their homes to battlefields all over the country – on foot.

Not only was this an unimaginably long trek by today’s standards, it was usually done in ill-fitting boots, or no footwear at all. Most soldiers in this war had boots that were identical for right and left feet.

Empathize with the soldiers of this bygone era now, as you listen to marching tunes and ballads popular in the mid 1860s: The Bonnie Blue Flag, Tenting Tonight on the Old Campground, Marching Through Georgia, My Darling Nellie Gray, and John Brown’s Body.

Ladies and gentlemen, enjoy with us now the ninth volume in David Miller’s American Frontier Suite series,  A Nation Divided.

Order this suite for your next concert Today.

$85.00Add to cart


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “AFS #09 – A Nation Divided”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *