for Brass Quintet
by Duke Ellington
arranged by David P. Miller

I was browsing through the United Methodist Hymnal a few years ago and was astounded to find a hymn by none other than Duke Ellington! 

I played through it on the piano, and was thrilled to hear the lush jazz harmonies that could only come from The Duke.

As much as I liked this tune, I could never convince a pianist or choir to perform it, because they just couldn't grasp what Duke was about. Well I just couldn't NOT play it, so I arranged it for Brass Quintet, and that's what we have here.

As you no doubt know, a Brass Quintet, even with only five voices, can sound much larger, and that's how this arrangement is written. You still get the gorgeous chords, the great jazz progressions so typical of Ellington. 

But this piece is something more. It's a hymn, it's lifting the glory to God. I absolutely love it when we are able to glorify God in an unusual way. And this arrangement sure fills the bill. 

Preview the first page of the score right in your browser by clicking here.

Download a PDF file of the first page of the score here. You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view this file, available FREE at

The price of this arrangement is $24.97, and comes with a full score and all parts in PDF format, so you can make as many copies of each as you wish.

Please see our duplication policy on our Copyright Page. To order either version of this piece, see our Order Page.



All text and images on this page and on
this website are Copyright 2004 by
David P. Miller and, Inc., all rights reserved.