The American Frontier Suites - Volume 4

for Full Concert/Symphonic Band
by David P. Miller

"Volume 4 of the American Frontier Suite Series"

The American Frontier Suite series came about as an idea resulting from collecting old music "that everyone knows." As the quantity of this music began to grow, it fell into fairly natural groupings, and as of this writing, in late 2009, there are some twenty-two suites planned for this series.

Volume Four in this series includes five tunes popular in the central river valley regions of the growing United States in the mid-1800s, tunes that form a good part of the cultural background of this country's musical heritage. The tunes included in this medley are:

  • My Old Kentucky Home -- Starting with a trombone solo or section soli, this tune will be instantly recognized and appreciated by just about any age group in your audience. It then grows to a full band rendition of this favorite tune.

  • The Blue-Tail Fly  -- Also known as "Jimmy Crack Corn," this is another tune that is already a favorite of people everywhere; this arrangement features an upbeat version for the chorus, alternating with easy 5/4 segments for the verses; excellent opportunities for players to learn to watch the conductor!

  • Down In The Valley -- Played in a fast (one beat) 3/4 time, this tune gives a relaxing interlude between two faster upbeat melodies, and will frequently start the audience singing along with the melody.

  • The Arkansas Traveler -- Frequently used as the tune for "I'm bringing home a baby bumblebee..." this tune will bring a smile to everyone's faces, even the players as they find a few melodic surprises in here.

  • Drink To Me Only With Thine Eyes -- One of the most haunting ballads to come from this time period, this tune makes a fitting conclusion to the medley.

This piece has been carefully scored to be a challenging Grade 3, and would be another ideal piece for state contest lists.

It will also make an ideal easy-to-master showcase piece for your next concert.

The price of this piece is $85.00 for the full score and all instrumental parts, all in PDF format, so you can print as many parts for each instrument as you need for your group.

Please see our duplication policy on our Copyright Page.

ORDER THE RIVER VALLEY SUITE NOW! To order this piece, see our Order Page.


Return to Catalog | Silver Clef Music Home


All text and images on this page and on
this website are Copyright 2009 by
David P. Miller and, Inc., all rights reserved.